top of page

Concert Review - Thursday Presents Full Collapse 2022


(Photo of Thursday by Julianna Iovino)

On December 16, 2022, I saw the band Thursday play all of their album, Full Collapse, along with an encore of songs from their other albums. The tour was accompanied by their opener, Anthony Green, and the band Cursive, who played their album Domestica in its entirety and some of their other popular songs.


I originally bought these tickets right away when they went on sale in October 2022. I first started listening to Thursday earlier this year when I found out they would be opening for rock band My Chemical Romance at a few of their shows during their tour in the United States. After hearing Thursday live for the first time on September 11, 2022, for My Chemical Romance's show in New York, I instantly fell in love with their music and stage presence. I saw them again on September 20, 2022, for My Chemical Romance's show in New Jersey. This show, in particular, had been extra special since it was the last one for a while that Thursday was performing as an opener for MCR. Because of that, Thursday had MCR's vocalist, Gerard Way, on stage to sing Thursday's song Jet Black New Year with them. Then, during MCR's set, Thursday's vocalist Geoff Rickly came out on stage to sing MCR's song This Is the Best Day Ever with the band. After these shows, I saw Thursday's drummer, Tucker Rule, play live when he performed with his other band, L.S. Dunes, for their concert in Brooklyn. Rule is someone I look up to and admire as a drummer, so getting to see him play live so many times this year has been an absolute pleasure.


After seeing Thursday live twice, I was very excited to see them in their own headline show. For this concert, I brought along a few friends that were with me when I saw Thursday open for MCR on September 11. They had liked Thursday then and wanted to see them again.

After the show, looking at my friends, I could tell that all of us were absolutely blown away by Thursday. We had liked the band before, but seeing them live and close in a smaller venue made us love them even more. The band has an amazing sound live, and the spirit from all the members, especially Rickly, is remarkable to see and hear. Each song they played had the crowd excited and singing along. Their songs Understanding in a Car Crash, Cross Out the Eyes and Jet Black New Year especially had the crowd pumped up.


Many of the fans in the crowd at this concert seemed to be long-time followers of the group. However, there was also a good amount of newer fans like my friends and me. After attending so many concerts this year, I believe this crowd had some of the nicest people I have ever met in a pit. The pit was fun, with crowd surfers and moshing, but also space for people who wanted to stay out of it. Even from just talking to others between sets, I know I have made some friends with the Thursday fans around me.


Altogether, I was very impressed by Thursday, and I hope they tour again soon. I very much enjoyed hearing all of Full Collapse, and I would love to hear a bunch of the band's songs from all different albums in the future. Could fans maybe see new music in the future? We'll have to see!

Comments


bottom of page