top of page

Concert Review - L.S. Dunes Dunesday Tour 2022

Updated: Dec 6, 2022


(Image by Julianna Iovino)

On November 29, 2022, I saw American supergroup L.S. Dunes perform in Brooklyn, NY at the Music Hall of Williamsburg. L.S. Dunes is a band I have followed since they debuted their first song, Permanent Rebellion, before its release with the band's first album, Past Lives.

To say I was excited about this concert would be an understatement. This was a concert I was eagerly awaiting ever since I purchased tickets back in August of 2022. When the day of the concert finally arrived, I woke up as eager as a kid on a school field trip day.


After seeing L.S. Dunes live, I can confidently say they are very much worth the excitement and do not disappoint. The band put on an amazing and energic concert that expressed how passionate all the members are about the music they have made together. A great example of this is when watching L.S. Dunes' frontman and vocalist Anthony Green when he is performing. He interacts with his fellow band members as well as the audience in front of him. He is not afraid to run up to and bite his guitarist or bassist, he will look right to a person on the barricade and sing to them, and he will almost definitely be swinging his mic cord around on stage. Even without these things, seeing the look on Green's face when he sings is enough to see just how excited and thankful he is to be singing on stage.

Of course, all the other members appear to have similar feelings that they express in their own ways. One of the things that makes this band so great, and is a belief that the band has backed up, is that they are a group of friends making music that they enjoy for themselves. It is clear, not only to see but also to hear, that they are creating music that makes them proud. They are doing what they love and have the opportunity to share it with others.


Despite my overwhelmingly positive anticipation before the concert, I was wary of the small venues that the band chose to play for this tour. However, after being there, I think playing in a small music hall was the best choice they could have made. The small venue made the concert feel more intimate. No matter where you stood, you could perfectly see the stage and feel the energy radiating from the band. You also were surrounded by a smaller number of concert-goers, compared to a stadium concert, which allowed for fans to get to know each other and less competition between people for standing locations in the pit.

In my experience, I did not need to camp out or show up super early to get a good view of the stage and all the members. I ended up being second from the barricade. Because of the small number of attendees, this allowed for the band to safely come out and meet fans after the show to take pictures or sign autographs. Because of the other groups that these members are also a part of, such as My Chemical Romance and Thursday, getting an opportunity to meet these artists after the show is next to impossible without a backstage pass or connection. However, since the venue was small and the number of people was low, the band could meet fans if they chose to.


I was lucky to meet L.S. Dunes' drummer Tucker Rule and rhythm guitarist Frank Iero outside the venue after the show.

(Tucker Rule (left) and Julianna Iovino (right) outside the Music Hall of Williamsburg)


If you do not know L.S. Dunes yet, I highly recommend checking them out. I see this group as one that continues for a long time and grows to have a great following. I hope to see them live again soon, and I can't wait to see where the band's journey takes them in the future.

Comments


bottom of page