top of page

Are Sequels Ruining Standalone Movies? [Opinion]


Warning - movie spoilers ahead: read at your own risk.

Over the past few weeks, I went to the movie theater to see two movies; The Menu, directed by Mark Mylod, and Violent Night, directed by Tommy Wirkola. Both movies I would no doubt consider standalone films, meaning that they are movies that most likely will not have a sequel and definitely do not need a sequel. They can be watched from beginning to end without the need for more. However, living in an age where there are constant sequels and prequels to almost every movie, I could not help myself but want more, even though it truly is not needed.


Not every movie needs a clear-cut end and answer. In a movie like The Menu especially, the ending should make you think a bit and leave it that you do not know what happens next, and that is okay. However, I could not help feeling a bit antsy about the ending. I kept thinking "What happens to Margo?", "Will she get put on the news or put on trial for the things that happened?", and "How does the rest of society respond to the things that occurred on the island?". These questions would very likely get answered in a movie sequel, or if the movie was a TV show, but a sequel is not needed for this film. Yes, answering these questions would be great, but movies should be up to the interpretation of the watcher. I can think up my own answers to these questions without a director pushing their ideas onto me.


Looking at the movie Violent Night, this movie does not need a sequel, even though it may get one in the future. It was a fun, check your brain at the door kind of movie that was a great night out for my friend and me. Beyond just the main plot of "Santa kills some bad guys" the film had a subplot that revolved around a family that gets taken hostage by professional robbers. Reviews of the movie aside, because of how accustomed I have become to getting more story and more details, I found myself leaving the theater thinking, "Well, what happens to the family then?" and most importantly, "Who is going to clean up the mess made in their house?".


My point comes as no offense or major criticism to sequels of movies, many are very good, and I enjoy them very much. However, maybe we have too many. Not every movie needs a sequel, and that is okay. Movies should leave questions unanswered and up to the audience's interpretation. Of course, that is not to say that things should be left confusing and forgotten, but sometimes letting things end naturally is okay. Not everything needs to be shoved in a watcher's face.


Will these movies get a sequel? Maybe. A sequel is not needed, but very well may come about one day.

My point of this is: it is okay if there is only one movie to a story.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page